Monday, 18 September 2017

Ikot Ekpene APC Members Nominate Chairmanship Candidate Peacefully

Mr. Cletus Essien has been nominated the chairmanship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ikot Ekpene after a keenly-contested nomination.

Essien alias Imette polled 122 votes to beat his closest opponent, Mr. Abasieno Ukpongenyin who scored 76 votes in the nomination on Monday.

Three other aspirants, Barr. Michael Nyah, Mr. Emmanuel Eshiet and Mr. Uwem Etokakpan scored 68, 27 and 3 votes respectively while 2 votes were voided.

In all, 297 delegates mainly APC ward and chapter executive members voted in the nomination held at Civic Centre, Anwa Udo Akai, Ikot Ekpene.

The four aspirants, who lost, congratulated Cletus Essien and pledged to work towards his victory in the general election shortly after the announcement of the result by Mr. Bassey Eshiet, the returning officer and APC State Organizing Secretary.

Others who also congratulated Essien included APC leaders in Ikot Ekpene, Otuekong Uyo Nathaniel, Engr. Essien Ibok, Chief Sunny Ibanga, Hon. Patty Etete and Mr. Temlong Nkwo.

The peaceful conduct of the APC nomination in Ikot Ekpene is in contrast to that of PDP where majority of its leaders withdrew from the nomination and rejected the manipulation of the nomination and imposition by former Works Commissioner Don Etim of his cousin, personal assistant and former Transition Committee Chairman, Unyime Etim as the PDP candidate.

PDP leaders who protested were Senator Emmanuel Ibok Essien, Engr. Etido Inyang, Dr. Otuekong Ukut, Engr. Samuel Inyang, Mr. Elijah Iyak, Hon. Nsikak Ekong, Hon. Isong Isang and others.

More photos after the cut.... 


Disclaimer: Comment expressed do not reflect the opinion of Isaac Yoma