Thursday, 8 February 2018


A Bill for a law to provide for Delta State Mortage Board & for other matters connected therewith has passed the first reading at the Delta State House of Assembly on Tuesday 06/02/2018 plenary session.

The bill which have Hon.Elekeowuri as one of the co-sponsors, is aimed at establishing Delta State Mortgage Board which is aimed at providing a legal framework for mortgages service in the State. 
The first reading of the bill followed adoption of a motion moved by the lead sponsor Comr Izeze R.Y . Reuben, Honourable member representing Ughelli-South State Constituency and Seconded by Hon Anthony Emeka Elekeowuri, member representing Ika North East State constituency.

At the plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt Hon Sheriff Oborevwori JP, MNIM, the House fix 28th February, 2018 for the second reading.

Similarly, the bill for estabilsment of ICT Agency also passes first reading following a motion for a Bill to Establish the Delta State Information and Technology Agency and other matters connected therewith by Comr Izeze R.Y. Reuben and seconded by the member representing Burutu State Constituency I , Hon. Daniel Yingi. The House fixed 27th February 2018 for its second reading.

Speaking to newsmen at end of the planary, Hon. Elekeowuri noted that Delta State Mortgage bill will encourage the growth of mortgages in real property , regulate consumer loans for acquisition of property, generate conducive environment for accessible and affordable mortgage or charge for the benefit of citizens of the State to acquire their own home, it also seeks to protect Deltans against sharp practices of mortgage brokers, lenders and all persons involved in offering funds on the security by way of mortgage or charge on any property in the state for development or the acquisition of homes or housing amongst others. He appeal to the House to give the bill a speedy passage.

The planary also witnessed the presentation of report on Statistics bill 2017 by House Committee on Establishment, Ethics, Privileges and House Service led by its Chairman, Hon. Dennis Omovie. The Majority Leader, Hon. Tim Owhefere moved for the house to receive the report and was seconded by Hon. Alphonsus Ojo.

The approval of the votes and proceedings of Tuesday, 30th January, 2018 was adopted following a motion by the Majority Leader, Hon. Tim Owhefere and was seconded by Hon. Oboro Preyor.


Disclaimer: Comment expressed do not reflect the opinion of Isaac Yoma