Tuesday, 13 February 2018

Mainstream Delta APC(MDA) Holds Expanded Caucus Meeting

Mainstream Delta APC(MDA), held an expanded Caucus Meeting at the Evwreni country home of Delta APC Leader, Olorogun O'tega Emerhor OON.

For the very first time, all Delta APC LGA Chairmen and Secretaries, being original members of mainstream delta APC were invited. Also invited were three (3) elders each from the 25 LGAs. This was in addition to the usual members of the MDA State Caucus.

Olorogun Emerhor used the opportunity to brief the Caucus on the state of Delta APC, topical issues of APC both at national and at the state level. Highlights of Olorogun Emerhor speech were as follows:

1) Delta APC is not divided, but strong and united under one state Exco headed by Prophet Jones Ode Erhue. That the existence of different interest groups such as MDA, CDA and LAD in the party is healthy as it encourages necessary internal democratic competition within the party.

2) That MDA being a group of people within Delta APC with like mind has found common ground with and currently in alliance with the CDA group. That a team will soon be raised to meet with the team from CDA to finalised the terms of corporation between both groups.

3) That MDA and it's affiliates are determined to field and support aspirants for all electoral positions in the upcoming party primaries including a governorship aspirant, senatorial aspirants for the 3 districts, house of representatives and State assembly aspirants throughout the state.

4) That MDA is determined to select and unveil its consensus governorship aspirant on or before March 15th 2018.

5) To this end, a governorship search and select committee was inaugurated in the course of the meeting yesterday. The committee will have 2 weeks to report back on the issue of zoning and the qualifying factors to be met by a prospective governorship aspirant. They will then have another 2 weeks to interact with the aspirants before presenting a shortlist to the Caucus.

6) That MDA shall continue to keep its door open to all members of APC.

7) That the National Caucus and NEC meetings of APC have been moved to February 26 and 27 respectively. That the issue of party congresses will be determined at that time. That in the time being, MDA will continue to prepare for either of guided congresses or full blown congresses.

In the light of Olorogun Emerhor's speech, immediately inaugurated 22 member Governorship Search Committee headed by AVM Ajobena rtd. Members of the committee were drawn from the three senatorial districts of the state. AVM Ajobena in accepting, on behalf of the committee, committed to be diligent in carrying out the tasķ of giving MDA and Delta APC a winner candidate.

Prof. Pat Utomi and Rt. Hon. Victor Ochei, governorship aspirants under the APC platform who attended the meeting, spoke on the need for APC to win the state so as to rescue Delta State from the retrogressive PDP government. Others who spoke in a similar vein were Dr Leroy Edozien and the representative of the state party Chairman and State Exco, Prince Akpodiete Edewor.

Highpoints of the meeting was the swearing in of members of the Governorship Search Committee. Also inaugurated at the meeting was the State Elders Council of the MDA which comprised of all MDA members of 60 years and above

In attendance at the meeting were Delta APC Leader; Olorogun Olorogun Otega Emerhor, MDA executives led by Chief Fred Olokor Okpohworo, Prof. Pat Utomi, Rt. Hon. Victor Ochie, Dr. Leroy Edozien, AVM Ajobena, Pastor PZ Aginighan, Chief SGO Kohwo, Chief Michael Johnny, Dr Cairo Ojuogboh represented by Chief Austin Ogbaburhun, Chief Simeon Ohwofa, Sir. Godwin Ohwoekevwo, Dr Omawumi Urhobo, Amb. Felix Datiowie, Prince Sam Kohwo, Mrs Alana, Chief Joe Arausi, Chief Malachi Orode, Delta APC SWC led by Prince Edewor Prince Akpedafe Edewor, Gen. Nick Agbogun Rtd, APC LGA Chairmen and Secretaries, MDA LGA Coordinators, MDA Elders Council members, Dr Iyke Odikpo, Dr Wilson Odafe Omene, Hon. Sonni Efurhievwe, Chief Johnny Esike, Dr (Chief) Sir Ominimini Obiuwevbi, Chief Jaro Egbo, Barr Spencer Ohwofa, Chief Vincent Okudolor, Barr. Awele Van Nwoko, Barr Omasan Duro-Emanuel Agbajor, Chief Tony Azuya, Prince Okareme Maikpobi, Barr. Emmanuel Pippa, Chief Nap Ogbon, Chief Mike Odeli, Fidelis Chimokwu, Mr Moses Kamaya, Mr Princewill Ejogharado, Barr Enuma, Barr Cyprain Ashibugwu, Hon Julius Okpoko, Dr David Ejenobo and Chief Oghenetega Andrew Orugbo.

Others were Hon Julius Akpovoka Julius, Chief Mebitaghan, Mr Ebiakpor Ezebri, Mr Charles Omadili, Hon Benjamin Essien, Hon Benjamin Efekodo, Chief Malam Obi, Chief John Araka, Rev Unutame, Engr Eric Egere, Rev. Ejiroghene Waive, Chief Johnson Akporido, Cmrd Monday Oyeghe , Hon.Akpodiete Edoja Rufus, Col Ideh rtd, Chief Chris Porbeni, Mr Emmanuel Oki, Mr Okorefe Mudi, Amb Young Piero, and a host of others.


Disclaimer: Comment expressed do not reflect the opinion of Isaac Yoma