Wednesday, 23 May 2018



The Delta State Chapter of the All Progressive Congress, APC,  recently conducted a hitch free Congress, Monday May 21st, 2018. The congress was conducted by the State Congress Committee sent by the APC National Working Committee that has Rt. Hon. Eugene Odoh as chairman.

The Congress which was held at the Federal College of Education Technical, Asaba, had thousands of delegates from the 25 local government areas of the State in attendance. The positions of the Deputy State Chairman to the Four Ex-Officios, were contested unopposed, while the position of the State Chairman was keenly contested by two Candidates; Chief Cyril Abeye Ogodo and Chief Fred Obe.

The exercise which was very peaceful, had personnel of all security agencies as well as officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission on ground to monitor and supervise it, with coverage that was provided by NTA, AIT, Channels Television as well as print and online media houses such as Punch, Vanguard, Guardian, the Nation, Sahara Reporters and a host of others.

The exercise which took place in an open field arena that was arranged in a rectangular form, with delegates sitting according to their local government areas, commenced with affirmation of officers elected unopposed with a motion moved by Chief Felix Ekure the Chairman of Ughelli North local government area and seconded by Barr. Emmanuel Pippa from Ughelli South local government area.

The declaration of officers elected unopposed was preceded by accreditation of delegates that took a number of hours before voting commenced. The voting was carried out in a sequential order of local government areas that filed out on a single queue endlessly in a calmed atmosphere.

When voting was going on, various Governorship aspirants and notable leaders of the party in the State were seen seated in calm disposition at the VIP section of the Congress arena. 

Upon the conclusion of results collation and counting that took several hours, the Chairman of the Congress Committee Rt. Hon. Eugene Odoh, declared Chief Cyril Abeye Ogodo the winner of the State Chairmanship Position. Chief Ogodo scored 731 votes to defeat his rival Chief Fred Obe who scored 99 votes. 

Total accredited delegates was 1439, while 13 votes were recorded as void.
The atmosphere was saturated with joy as members began to chant victorious songs in expression of satisfaction over the emergence of the new Chairman, Chief Cyril Abeye Ogodo and for the peaceful conduct of Congress.

Just before people started departing the venue, Chief Fred Obe expressed Satisfaction over the transparent manner the Congress was conducted saying "everything that happened was very transparent. If I could be given opportunity to contest here, it means this is a place to stay." 

The foremost leader of the party in the State Olorogun Otega Emerhor thanked Chief Fred Olokor and others who made the the congress a success, stressing that "the Congress is the outcome of the unity list that resulted from the ward Congresses earlier held. Olorogun Emerhor extended hands of fellowship to those that conducted parallel congress last Saturday, urging them to join the unity train of the party as Delta APC bids to wrestle power from PDP in the state come 2019. Chief Hyacinth Enuha also joined in appreciating the thousands of members who turned out to participate in the Congress.

The new chairman, Chief Cyril Ogodo extended an olive branch to his opponents as well as those of the faction led by Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, saying that now is the time to unite the party ahead of the 2019 general election.

Olorogun Otega Emerhor OON, Engr. Hyacinth Enuha, Engr. Samuel Adjogbe FNSE, AVM Frank Ajobena(Rtd) Rt. Hon. Victor Ochei, Dr Cairo Ojougboh, Dr. Leroy Edozien, Chief Adolor Okotie-Eboh, Chief Fred Olokor and supporters were in attendance.


Disclaimer: Comment expressed do not reflect the opinion of Isaac Yoma